Jump to content

Pre season 4A baseball rankings


Sportsfanatic1
 Share

Recommended Posts

As it stands now......PG advances to the next round and Brownsboro is eliminated.  Congrats to PG and good season for the Brownsboro Bears.  There will be other teams and other critical situations for all teams still playing to overcome in order to get to the Final Four in Austin.  PG gets a rest until next week and can sit back and watch now.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

On ‎5‎/‎5‎/‎2019 at 6:30 PM, ALLSPORTFAN said:

Carthage vs. Hillsboro Friday 4:00 and 7:00 at Melissa
Game 3 if needed will be in Rusk on Saturday at 5:00.

Also tonight at the same Melissa complex Melissa HS will be playing vs. Kennedale HS....and in a bonus for Carthage fans the Dawgs softball team will be playing round 3 at 6PM game vs Robinson. It was moved from Madisonville due to weather concerns. Last Thursday at Melissa complex all at the same time were 1st round baseball games between Melissa/North Dallas (4A), Pottsboro/Bells (3A) & Bland/Tom Bean (2A). I watched some of the games with the seating for fields less than 50 yards apart. Was quite the HS baseball fans treat as will tonight.

All Carthage fans should be able to check out your softball teams action between your baseball teams games or since you are already wearing red come cheer on Melissa's baseball team, unless you feel bad for the beating your football team laid on Kennedale 2 years ago and cheer for them LOL.

And if Carthage softball fans were dismayed about losing the opportunity to visit the Buc-ees in Madisonville do not be sad as Melissa has it's very own Buc-cees that opened last week!

Safe travels to all.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

This is why nobody really likes umpires in baseball. Too many want to be too big a part of the game. That was a chicken **** call. The kid had already stepped on first by the time the second baseman let go of the ball. He should be done calling games in the playoffs after that one. Unreal

Link to comment
Share on other sites

The runner has every right to the basepath and the base.......end of story.  The defensive player cannot be impeded from making the play ONLY if the baserunner makes an obvious attempt to alter his path to the base during the approach to the base........not occupying the base.  It is incumbent upon the defensive player to move AWAY from the base in order to make the throw to first for interference to be called.  If the runner did not alter his path, then there should be no call......that's baseball!  In this case......the player did not alter his path and was occupying the base.  The 2nd baseman should have moved away from the base to make the throw......but he didn't.  The area AT the base belongs to both players......thus no interference.

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

2 minutes ago, regaleagle said:

The runner has every right to the basepath and the base.......end of story.  The defensive player cannot be impeded from making the play ONLY if the baserunner makes an obvious attempt to alter his path to the base during the approach to the base........not occupying the base.  It is incumbent upon the defensive player to move AWAY from the base in order to make the throw to first for interference to be called.  If the runner did not alter his path, then there should be no call......that's baseball!  In this case......the player did not alter his path and was occupying the base.  The 2nd baseman should have moved away from the base to make the throw......but he didn't.  The area AT the base belongs to both players......thus no interference.

PERIOD !!!!

It was a terrible call that should never have been made.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

To take this situation one step further......it is allowed at every level for any baserunner to undercut the defensive player at any base if he is in the path of the baserunner at the base.  This happens all the time and throws are impeded legally because of it.  It's part of the game and part of being a good infielder to move AWAY from the base to complete a throw for a double play.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

In professional baseball......they have a rule for replay for just such an instance.  And many other instances when a call is close and questionable and even judgemental like this one was.  Unfortunately at the other levels replay is not available so this rule can not be instituted.   The play stands as the umpire ruled, regardless of the circumstances.  Just unfortunate that the umpire in this game did not give more latitude to the entire situation, but was quick(too quick IMO) in his call.  And the call turned out to be the wrong call upon further examination after the fact......by all baseball standards.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

But the umpire should be decisive in his calls in baseball......not slow and appearing to be indecisive.  Have you ever seen the reaction from players and the fans when an umpire in baseball makes a call only a couple of seconds after the play???  The umpire behind the plate calls the batter out well after the pitch and he is trotting to first base for a walk......kind of dramatic, Huh?  Everybody in the park thinks the ump changed his mind and the call.....LOL.  And maybe he did......so that's why you see quick calls in baseball as much as possible......the umps don't want to be accused of changing their minds on calls.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

After reviewing the tape of the play critically several times......the ball was hit as a "bloop" slow one-bouncer that the shortstop had no alternative but to toss to 2nd base for a quick out.  The batter was well onto his way to first by the time the ball was fielded by the shortstop and the runner at 3rd was well down the path to homeplate.  The shortstop made the right decision to make the play at 2nd and give up the run.  The 2nd baseman caught the toss, remained on the bag, made his turn to first as the runner slid, and then threw to 1st.  But the batter was practically crossing the bag at first when the 2nd baseman let go of the ball.  After the throw, the 2nd baseman turned his back to the outfield signaling 2 outs and then the call was made.....well after the first base umpire called the batter safe at first.  Not even close to a questionable call by the 2nd base umpire.....just totally in error.   In fact, all of the PG players seemed surprised by the call.....that's what their body language and reactions appeared to show.  Shame shame on the 2nd base ump on  this call....in every way you look at it!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

The play is on video.  No intention of interference was evident.  He slid but popped up when he touched the base.  The throw had no chance of getting the runner on first.  But hey, it was a double header on a Thursday night.  He may have gotten an hour or more of sleep last night by making the call.  No telling how long the  game might have gone on if the Bears got the run.  Sad way to end a season for the Bears though.  

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Watched in full screen, and the runner clearly went passed second as he popped up and made contact with the 2nd baseman. With four umpires, the 2nd base umpire has no idea if the batter is going to be safe at first or possibly tripped and fell halfway down the line. The bottom line is contact was made beyond the base and the batter is out for interference. I hate it for Brownsboro, but that's the rule.

  • Like 1
  • Thanks 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

10 minutes ago, Lhornfan said:

Watched in full screen, and the runner clearly went passed second as he popped up and made contact with the 2nd baseman. With four umpires, the 2nd base umpire has no idea if the batter is going to be safe at first or possibly tripped and fell halfway down the line. The bottom line is contact was made beyond the base and the batter is out for interference. I hate it for Brownsboro, but that's the rule.

Negatory on your post Lhornfan.  Anybody that watches this video can plainly see the contact occurred while ON the base for both players.....not beyond the base.  Theball was released as contact was made.....a very legal play by the runner.  It is not illegal or interference to obstruct the throw if the runner is occupying the base.....end of story.  The onus is on the defensive player here to move away from any obstruction from the runner to complete the play.....not the other way around.....as long as the runner is occupying the base or attempting to occupy the base without altering his slide or the path of his slide away from the base.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Where the runner was at first has nothing to do with the call. The runner at second pops up and makes contact with the defender which gives the second base umpire the chance to use his "judgement". I am not saying it is the right judgement but the runner allows that when he popped up.  If he slides directly into the bag and takes out the fielder everything is legit. The minute he popped up he created a situation for the umpire to call interference. 

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

2 minutes ago, darktower said:

Where the runner was at first has nothing to do with the call. The runner at second pops up and makes contact with the defender which gives the second base umpire the chance to use his "judgement". I am not saying it is the right judgement but the runner allows that when he popped up.  If he slides directly into the bag and takes out the fielder everything is legit. The minute he popped up he created a situation for the umpire to call interference. 

That's what I see. Also I think the runners left arm pushed off the 2nd baseman.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

20 minutes ago, Sportsfanatic1 said:

That's what I see. Also I think the runners left arm pushed off the 2nd baseman.

Its a tough call against Brownsboro in that situation in the playoffs but I don't see anything  to suggest it is incorrect--

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, regaleagle said:

Negatory on your post Lhornfan.  Anybody that watches this video can plainly see the contact occurred while ON the base for both players.....not beyond the base.  Theball was released as contact was made.....a very legal play by the runner.  It is not illegal or interference to obstruct the throw if the runner is occupying the base.....end of story.  The onus is on the defensive player here to move away from any obstruction from the runner to complete the play.....not the other way around.....as long as the runner is occupying the base or attempting to occupy the base without altering his slide or the path of his slide away from the base.

I don't like the game ending on that call, but that umpire had the best view in the house and was watching only those two players. Unless the rule changed in the last couple of years, the defense has the right to the back and sides of the base. Someone stated earlier this call doesn't get made with a 2 or even 3 man crew. I agree 100%. But as much as I hate the outcome, I've got to go with the guy that was standing 10 feet away with a good angle.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, regaleagle said:

Negatory on your post Lhornfan.  Anybody that watches this video can plainly see the contact occurred while ON the base for both players.....not beyond the base.  Theball was released as contact was made.....a very legal play by the runner.  It is not illegal or interference to obstruct the throw if the runner is occupying the base.....end of story.  The onus is on the defensive player here to move away from any obstruction from the runner to complete the play.....not the other way around.....as long as the runner is occupying the base or attempting to occupy the base without altering his slide or the path of his slide away from the base.

If you read NFHS rule 2-32-1,2 regarding the base runner, it clearly states the pop up slide is illegal into the fielder. That was what was called. Like someone stated, the umpire that made the call at second had no idea that the throw to first had no chance of beating the runner.  He was focused on the play at second. It is unfortunate that the game ended on that call because Brownsboro played a great game. 

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
 Share

×
×
  • Create New...