Playing a player up from 5-6 to 7-8's

Tell me there is a Dixie youth rule against this.

This was my son's team that did this.

7-8 year old Dixie youth theam has 11 players (players 10 & 11 play 1 inning each and bat once each then sit on the bench)

Team brought in a player from 5-6 year old. (substitute player plays in game while player 10 & 11 sit on bench)????

And before you say it; my son was not one of the players sitting on the bench.

I was an assistant coach on this team and stated my objections to the head coach, only to be told that he talked to the parents of players 10 & 11 and they did'nt mind. Was told by the other assistant coaches that the player was being brought up to play so that he would get some exposure to 7 & 8's because they were recruiting him to play on a super 7 team they were putting together.

Nope not against the rules he can play up!

Thanks for the reply.

I know that he can play up but can a team sit 2 members on their roster for this substitute to play in a game?

(Playing up player can substitute any position - same age substitute player can only play outfield)

What is there to stop a team from bringing hotshot players from other teams in and setting their less than stellar roster players on the bench? While these subs play?

It just seems unfair for a young boy to sit on a bench, while someone from another team plays his position.