Lufkin's Byndom on Nagurski Watch List
Wednesday, 18th July 2012 - 10:39AM

DALLAS (FWAA) - The 2012 Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List features the best and brightest of the upcoming season's defensive players.

One of 84 players on the list most likely will receive the Bronko Nagurski Trophy that is awarded annually to the nation's best defensive player by the Football Writers Association of America and the Charlotte Touchdown Club. Every NCAA Division I Bowl Subdivision conference and independents BYU and Notre Dame are represented on the list that is led by 30 standout linebackers.

Players may be added or deleted from the Bronko Nagurski Watch List during the season. For the 12th consecutive season, the FWAA will choose a Bronko Nagurski National Defensive Player of the Week. If a recipient is not on the Watch List, he will be added. The FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club will announce five finalists for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy on Nov. 15.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy winner is chosen from five finalists who are part of the FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the entire membership, selects the 25-man team and eventually the Bronko Nagurski finalists. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner, the best defensive player in America.

The annual Bronko Nagurski Trophy Banquet presented by ACN will be Dec. 3 at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte, N.C. Besides the 2012 winner being announced, the banquet will also celebrate the recipient of the Bronko Nagurski Legends Award presented by Florida East Coast Railway. Nebraska's Larry Jacobson, an end from the FWAA's 1971 All-American team, will be honored. Notre Dame head coach Brian Kelly will be the keynote speaker at the banquet.

CB Johnny Adams, Michigan State
CB Ricardo Allen, Purdue
CB David Amerson, N.C. State
LB Dion Bailey, USC
CB Johnthan Banks, Mississippi State
LB Chris Borland, Wisconsin
S John Boyett, Oregon
LB Travis Brown, Fresno State
LB Jonathan Brown, Illinois
LB Arthur Brown, Kansas State
CB Brodrick Brown, Oklahoma State
DE Michael Buchanan, Illinois
LB Max Bullough, Michigan State
CB Carrington Byndom, Texas
DE Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina
LB Jamie Collins, Southern Miss
S Matt Elam, Florida
DT Sharrif Floyd, Florida
CB Kyle Fuller, Virginia Tech
DE William Gholston, Michigan State
LB Khaseem Greene, Rutgers
LB Steve Greer, Virginia
DT Johnathan Hankins, Ohio State
LB Gerald Hodges, Penn State
S Jarred Holley, Pittsburgh
CB Demontre Hurst, Oklahoma
CB Micah Hyde, Iowa
LB Andrew Jackson, Western Kentucky
DE Jackson Jeffcoat, Texas
S Tony Jefferson, Oklahoma
DE Brandon Jenkins, Florida State
DL John Jenkins, Georgia
LB Nico Johnson, Alabama
DE Travis Johnson, San Jose State
LB Jarvis Jones, Georgia
DE Dion Jordan, Oregon
S Lamarcus Joyner, Florida State
LB A.J. Klein, Iowa State
LB Jake Knott, Iowa State
S Jordan Kovacs, Michigan
DE Corey Lemonier, Auburn
S Robert Lester, Alabama
DE Kapron Lewis-Moore, Notre Dame
DT Rob Lohr, Vanderbilt
LB Travis Long, Washington State
DT Star Lotulelei, Utah
LB Khalil Mack, Buffalo
LB Trent Mackey, Tulane
CB Nigel Malone, Kansas State
DE Stansly Maponga, TCU
CB Tyrann Mathieu, LSU
S Dexter McCoil, Tulsa
S T.J. McDonald, USC
CB Leon McFadden, San Diego State
CB Dee Milliner, Alabama
DE Barkevious Mingo, LSU
DE Sam Montgomery, LSU
LB C.J. Mosley, Alabama
DT Roosevelt Nix, Kent State
DE Alex Okafor, Texas
LB Kevin Pierre-Louis, Boston College
LB Sean Porter, Texas A&M
CB Jordan Poyer, Oregon State
LB Kevin Reddick, North Carolina
S Eric Reid, LSU
CB Xavier Rhodes, Florida State
CB Nickell Robey, USC
DT Kawann Short, Purdue
DE John Simon, Ohio State
LB Shayne Skov, Stanford
S Hakeem Smith, Louisville
DE Devin Taylor, South Carolina
LB Bruce Taylor, Virginia Tech
LB Mike Taylor, Wisconsin
LB Manti Te'o, Notre Dame
LB Chase Thomas, Stanford
S Kenny Vaccaro, Texas
LB Kyle Van Noy, BYU
DT Joe Vellano, Maryland
DE Bjoern Werner, Florida State
DL Jesse Williams, Alabama
DE Trevardo Williams, Connecticut
LB Dwayne Woods, Bowling Green
LB Tom Wort, Oklahoma

By conference: SEC (19), Big Ten (14), Big 12 (13), ACC (11), Pac-12 (10), Big East (4), Conference USA (3), Independents (3), MAC (3), Mountain West (2), Sun Belt (1), WAC (1).

The Football Writers Association of America, a non-profit organization founded in 1941, consists of more than 1,300 men and women who cover college football for a living. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include gameday operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at [email protected] or 972-713-6198.

The Charlotte Touchdown Club is a non-profit organization founded in 1990 for the purpose of promoting high school, collegiate, and professional football in the Charlotte, N.C. region. The club's activities and services focus community attention on the outstanding citizenship, scholarship, sportsmanship, and leadership of area athletes and coaches. For more information, contact John Rocco (704-347-2918 or [email protected]). The official website of the Charlotte Touchdown Club is

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association's official website,

View Printer Friendly Version