Earl Campbell Finalists Announced
Wednesday, 22nd January 2014 - 8:14AM
TYLER, Texas - The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award today announced five finalists for the inaugural year of the award.


Jace Amaro, Texas Tech, Tight End, Junior - San Antonio, TX (MacArthur HS)

Mike Evans, Texas A&M, Wide Receiver, Sophomore - Galveston, TX (Ball HS)

James Franklin, Missouri, Quarterback, Senior - Corinth, TX (Lake Dallas, HS)

Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M, Quarterback, Sophomore - Kerrville, TX (Tivy HS)

Bryce Petty, Baylor, Quarterback, Junior - Midlothian, HS (Midlothian HS)

The winner will be announced at the award banquet in Tyler, Texas on January 17, 2014.

YOU can vote for your favorite finalist for the Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award by clicking on this link Vote for Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award. You can vote once each day.


The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award, announced in 2012 by the Tyler Chamber and SPORTyler, recognizes the top offensive player in Division 1 football who also exhibits the enduring characteristics that define Earl Campbell: integrity, performance, teamwork, sportsmanship, drive, community, and tenacity; specifically tenacity to persist and determination to overcome adversity and injury in pursuit of reaching goals.

In addition, the nominee must meet one or more of the following criteria: born in Texas and/or graduated from a Texas High School and/or played at a Texas-based junior college or four year D1 Texas college.

For more information about The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award contact Cindy Smoak, SPORTyler, Tyler Area Chamber of Commerce:

[email protected] or 903-592-1661, extension 237.

View Printer Friendly Version